What Winters Are Made For! Stuffing, Prosciutto and Pork Wellington.

Firstly, I must apologise for the prolonged radio silence. I can’t even recall the last time I sat down and wrote my last piece but I have a shameful feeling it was circa 2016. A time in my life when I threw myself into anything new and exciting, or what some of my friends have described as damn right dangerous; roller derby, kayaking, climbing, hiking, yoga, new friendships, new home, new job. It was an absolute whirlwind of discovering a new me and relishing in all the things I slowly started to fall in love with.

My love for food never stopped and I still get an overwhelming feeling of glee every time I step into the kitchen to prepare my next dish. So here goes, my first post of 2020. Quintessentially British, a classic all time favourite, I virtually deliver to you Pork Wellington. A surprisingly good alternative to beef, and if I haven’t subtly mentioned it before (see red meat rant post), me and red meat are not well acquainted. That is all.

Ingredients

  • 400g g pork fillet (tenderloin)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp fresh dried sage chopped
  • 5 slices prosciutto ham
  • 320 g ready rolled puff pastry
  • 1 tsp butter (optional)
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Paxo Sage & Onion Stuffing Mix 170G
  • 1 Small Egg
  • Breadcrumbs (homemade or shop bought)

Method Instructions

  1. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high
  2. Season the pork fillet with salt and pepper. 
  3. Fry the pork fillet until it’s nice and browned on all sides, turning often and then set aside to cool.
  4. Add olive to the pan and fry one chopped onion until softened. Then stir in 2 chopped cloves of garlic, fresh sage and cook for 2 more minutes.

5. For the stuffing, empty the sachet into a bowl, adding 425ml of boiling water, mixing well. Add a large knob of butter if desired in a bowl and mix in the onions, garlic, breadcrumbs and egg.  Leave to stand for 5 minutes 

6. Lay a large sheet of baking parchment on a work surface and place the 5 slices of Parma ham in the middle overlapping slightly to form a large rectangle. Place the pork fillet on top then use the parchment to roll the ham tightly around the pork.

7. Next, spread the stuffing mixture over the baking paper. Place the pork fillet on top then use the parchment to roll the stuffing tightly around the pork.

8. Unroll the puff pastry and brush the surface with some olive oil. Carefully transfer the pork to the edge of the pastry. Wrap the pork in the pastry, Trimming away excess and using to patch up the pastry to completely enclose the pork if required.

9. Starting at one short end of each piece, score diagonal lines, 1 inch apart, with a sharp knife (do not cut all the way through). Score in other direction, creating a crosshatch pattern. Line baking tray with baking paper and place wellington on top.

10. Preheat the oven to 200℃ (180℃ fan)/ or gas mark 6. Brush the surface of the pastry with olive oil and sprinkle on some salt and black pepper. Bake for 30-40 minutes until the pastry is risen and golden.

And that’s it, 10 simple steps and you’ll be greeted by an aroma of rich sage and aromatic succulent pork!

We served this spectacular piece of wellington with garlic mash, creamed leaks and blanched baby carrots! Don’t forget the onion gravy.

Food Credit: Mr W.

Leave a comment